Successful students honoured

A LONG list of awards was presented to successful students at New Norfolk High School’s annual prizegiving assembly a fortnight ago. Among the many guests was Derwent Valley Mayor Tony Nicholson, who described the event as the best prizegiving ceremony he had ever attended. Several students won multiple awards, including Lisa Clarke who was the most successful graduating student with five prizes, and Sara Lowe who received the NNHS Medal.

Below are the bursaries and Grade 10 awards. Congratulations to all recipients and to the donors who make the awards possible.

BursariesCharles and Sylvia Viertel Springboard to Higher Education Bursary: Lisa Clarke
Magra CWA Vocational Bursary: Jeremy Bowerman
Claremont College Bursary: Georgie Foley
Norske Skog Bursaries: Rhys Browning, Katelyn Turner, Nathan Lester and Mikhala Neads

Grade Ten Awards – New Norfolk High School Award (best Grade 1o all-rounder): Rhys Browning
New Norfolk High School Medal (most outstanding student): Sara Lowe
Apex Shield (for citizenship, service and fellowship): Lisa Clark and Louise McNeill
Glengrey House Award (for community service & citizenship): Jaime Zache
David Jefferson Award (for service to the school community): Jade Tatchell
Education Minister’s Pride in our School Award: Jade Tatchell
Uniting Church Award (for personal endeavour & commitment to personal growth): Samantha Smith
Senator Carol Brown Award: Tiarne Morse
Claremont Rotary Club Award (for exemplary commitment to the values in education): Lisa Clarke.
New Norfolk Legacy Widows’ Award (for a student who has received an apprenticeship or traineeship): Hayley Bannister
New Norfolk Bicentennial Committee Award (for commitment to community activities): Lisa Clarke.
Tim Morris MHA Award (for achievement in science or history & science): Sara Lowe and Lisa Clarke
Philip Lake Award (for achievement in maths): Rhys Browning
Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award (for leadership and teamwork): Jade Tatchell
Michael Graham Memorial Trophy (for boys’ sport & sportsmanship): Shai Johnson
Stephen and Tina Rhodes Memorial Award (for girls’ sporting values): Casey Bell
David Llewellyn MHA Award (for encouragement): Jeddah Triffitt
St John Ambulance Australia Service Award: Laura Dillon
Derwent Valley Gazette Literary Award (for achievement in communication): Sara Lowe
New Norfolk High School Award (for achievement in the arts/music): Luke Connor
New Norfolk High School Award (for excellence in visual arts): Hayley Bannister
New Norfolk High School Award (for excellence in graphic design): Sara Lowe
New Norfolk High School Award (performing arts): Tanya Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )