Change has come to the Valley

AT the close of counting tonight, the Derwent Valley has a new mayor, deputy mayor and at least one new councillor. New Norfolk drycleaner Martyn Evans is the new mayor and electorate officer Craig Farrell is the new deputy mayor. Former deputy mayor Scott Shaw and journalist Damian Bester look set to be the first candidates elected as councillors, with both polling strongly and obtaining a full quota each with 99% of votes counted.

Final figures for tonight were:

  1. Scott Shaw              969 votes (1.19 quotas)
  2. Damian Bester           852 votes (1.05 quotas)
  3. Tony Nicholson          454 votes (0.56 quotas)
  4. Barry Lathey             443 votes (0.55 quotas)
  5. James Graham           405 votes (0.50 quotas) 
  6. Phil Bingley               310 votes (0.38 quotas)
  7. Wayne Shoobridge     273 votes (0.34 quotas)
  8. Raymond Smith         180 votes (0.22 quotas)
  9. Alexander Moores      167 votes (0.21 quotas)

Counting will continue tomorrow (Wednesday) which will firstly see the distribution of Shaw and Bester’s surplus votes, followed by the gradual exclusion of candidates with the least votes and the distribution of their preferences. Follow the count at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission website

Among the many people to congratulate new mayor Martyn Evans (left) and new deputy mayor Craig Farrell (right) tonight was the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Michael Polley MHA (centre).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )