Latest results – Tim strides further ahead

HE won unexpected praise from former premier Paul Lennon on live ABC TV on election night and continues to lead the vote in Lyons as the Tasmanian Electoral Commission keeps counting as postal votes roll in. Who? That’s right – it’s our Tim. There is even some online chatter that he could be the frontrunner for Speaker of the House of Assembly in any power-sharing government. And why not?

Updated figures as at 4.45pm today (Thursday) with 93.08 per cent of the vote counted:
Tim Morris MHA (Greens) 9011
Michael Polley MHA (ALP) 8262
Rene Hidding MHA (Lib) 7532
David Llewellyn MHA (ALP) 6583
Rebecca White (ALP) 6432
Mark Shelton (Lib) 5224
Jane Howlett (Lib) 4471
Jim Playsted (Lib) 3996
Heather Butler MHA (ALP) 2524
Nick Wright (ALP) 2349
Leigh Gray (Lib) 1857
Karen Cassidy (Greens) 1581
Brendan Sullivan (ALP) 1285
Jackie Graham (Greens) 1027
Karl Stevens (Green) 992
Sharon Prior (Greens) 863

The Mercury reported this morning that veteran Labor minister David Llewellyn was continuing to hold off newcomer Rebecca White. Labor’s Michael Polley will retain his seat, as will Liberal Rene Hidding. The Mercury tips Meander Valley mayor Mark Shelton to take a second seat for the Liberals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )