Gretna Cricket Club trophy night

IT was a repeat of last season when Gretna I player Bruce Emery and Gretna II captain Mathew Burns won the best all-rounder trophies at the recent Gretna Cricket Club trophy night and annual dinner. In the closest margin I can recall, Emery (193.5 points) won the award, half a point ahead of Gretna I captain Ben Rainbird on 193 points. This is the sixth time Emery has won the award.

It was a different story for the Gretna II award which Burns won with 499.5 points to Brian Smith’s 188.5 points. Burns and Smith also figured in the Southern Cricket Association division three awards, where Burns took out the best player for the second season running and Smith won the batting average (51.2). Well done guys, especially Brian, 48 years young and still ahead of the pack, even winning the batting average for for both Gretna teams. I have no doubt we will see you playing next season Fossil.

The players’ award vote count, which has now been running for the past 10 seasons, was held prior to the dinner. In a great count, Bruce Emery 17 votes won the Gretna I award by one vote from Ben Rainbird on 16 votes. Mathew Burns won the Gretna II award, 31 votes to Brian Smith’s 10.5 votes. By all accounts, “Point 5” did a marvellous job once again as Richie Benaud in calling the votes.

Gretna I awards – batting average: Brian Smith, 24.8; aggregate: Ben Rainbird, 286 runs; bowling average: Bruce Emery, 18.2; aggregate: Corey Ransley 19 wickets; most catches: Ben Rainbird 6; best all-rounder: Bruce Emery, 193.5 points; players’ award: Bruce Emery, 17 votes; runner up: Ben Rainbird 16 points.

Gretna II awards – batting average: Brian Smith, 51.2; aggregate: Mathew Burns 589 runs; bowling average: Mathew Burns, 13.8; aggregate: Mathew Burns, 26 wickets; most catches, Nathan Rainbird 10: best all-rounder: Mathew Burns, 499.5 points; player’s award: Mathew Burns, 31 votes; runner-up: Brian Smith 10.5 points.

Cecil Gray memorial trophy (Best under 21 player): Corey Ransley, 184.5 points; Captain’s Trophy: Mathew Perotti. Best Clubman: Ben Shaw; Duck trophy: Jackson Ackerly, 8 (Jacko now shares the record with Ben Shaw!)

Congratulations to the following players for reaching game milestones during the season – club games: Ben Rainbird 200, Brian Smith 200, Peter Jelkic 150, Craig Cunningham 100, Cameron Emery 50 and Tom Allcock 50. Gretna I games: Bruce Emery 150, Ben Rainbird 150, Corey Ransley 50. Gretna II games: Nathan Rainbird 100 and Mathew Burns 100.

The awards night was well attended with around 70 people enjoying themselves. Life members in attendance were Bobby Butler, Peter Rainbird, Joey Hack, Paul Jarvis and Micky Rainbird. It was also great to see Central Highlands mayor Deirdre Flint and Derwent Valley deputy mayor Craig Farrell in attendance – the club wishes them both well in the running for the Legislative Council seat of Derwent.   

The club would like to take this opportunity to thank all sponsors and trophy donors. Thanks also to Lyn Saunders from Glenora District High school for supplying chairs and tables for the night and also for her efforts in having a new synthetic wicket laid on the school ground for our juniors to play games there during this season and beyond. Catch you all next season.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )