Rocket pockets William Leitch

NATHAN Ross last night became the 15th New Norfolk footballer to win the William Leitch Medal. The medal has moved between competitions since it was introduced in 1930 but remains Tasmania’s best-known best and fairest award.

At age 19, Ross has emphatically etched his name into the long and proud history of the New Norfolk District Football Club. The small forward/midfielder kicked 58 goals this season and gave four best-on-field performances.

At the Southern Football League awards night at Glenorchy on Monday, Ross won player of the year awards from WIN Television and the Huon Valley News in addition to the William Leitch Medal.

Mercury football reporter Brett Stubbs writes that Ross will be key contributor in New Norfolk’s grand final battle with Kingborough this Saturday.  Read the Mercury newspaper’s report here.

New Norfolk’s William Leitch Medallists
1948 Jim Brown
1951 Rex Garwood
1952 Cliff Busch
1954 Bruce Roe
1955 Rex Garwood
1958 Rex Garwood
1961 Roger Browning
1962 Roger Browning
1972 Ricky Graham
1974 Tony Browning
1981 Robbie Dykes
1985 Graham Hunnibell
1990 Ricky Hanlon
1993 Rene Peters
2004 Brock Ackerley and Roger Belcher
2007 Brad Carver
2009 Roger Belcher
2011 Nathan Ross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )