Nicholson back on council

FORMER mayor Tony Nicholson has romped back on to the Derwent Valley Council two years after being unseated. Mr Nicholson, of Lachlan, polled 721 primary votes in today’s council election, second only to rival mayoral candidate Martyn Evans who topped the poll with 1555 votes and was convincingly returned as councillor.

Cr Evans obtained 2.4 quotas and Mr Nicholson obtained 1.1 quotas. Distribution of their surplus votes will help to determine which candidates will fill the three remaining vacancies. Chris Lester received 399 primary votes and looks set to be elected.

Final figures for tonight were:

  1. Martyn Evans        1555 votes (2.4 quotas)
  2. Tony Nicholson       721 votes (1.11 quotas)
  3. Chris Lester            399 votes (0.62 quotas)
  4. Judy Bromfield        308 votes (0.48 quotas)
  5. Wayne Shoobridge  282 votes (0.44 quotas)
  6. Phil Bingley             226 votes (0.35 quotas)
  7. Dane Cowley          176 votes (0.27 votes)
  8. Mark McDiarmid    107 votes (0.17 votes)
  9. Simon Rolfe            104 votes (0.16 votes)

Counting will continue tomorrow (Wednesday) which will firstly see the distribution of Evans and Nicholson’s surplus votes, followed by the gradual exclusion of candidates with the least votes and the distribution of their preferences. Follow the count at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )