Lachlan’s tidy efforts honoured

NEW Norfolk’s year as Tasmania’s tidiest town ended last Friday when Keep Australia Beautiful held its annual awards ceremony at the New Norfolk District Football Club. Wynyard was named Tasmania’s Tidy Town winner for 2011-12, the north-west coastal town’s fifth win since 1980.

While New Norfolk was unsuccessful this year, a number of certificates were awarded to local organisations and individuals in recognition of community action and partnerships. All but two were Lachlan-based. The recipients were:

  • Janine Allcock – for leadership as president of the Lachlan Community Hall Committee
  • John and Colleen Graham –  for their contribution to the life of the Lachlan community
  • Lachlan Fire Brigade – for service to the Lachlan community
  • Derwent Valley Council Tidy Towns Committee – for the beautification of the gardens surrounding the New Norfolk library
  • Derwent Valley Council – for the newly constructed entrance to the New Norfolk Hall
  • Gleeson Park Committee – a group of people who give excellent service to the community
  • The Lachlan Community –  to all those community members who care to make Lachlan such a great place to live
  • Natasa Milenovic – for the playgroup and the Lachlan food co-operative
  • Lachlan Community Hall Committee – the Lachlan community spirit is due in a very large way to the efforts of this committee
  • The Agrarian Kitchen – an outstanding example of sustainability and a great addition to the Lachlan community

Congratulations to all recipients.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )