Two big nights at the speedway

THE best V8 super sedan drivers in Australia will contest Tasmania’s longest-running speedway feature event at the Hobart International (Mountain Dew Ice) Speedway at Sorell Creek this Friday and Saturday nights. The Tasmanian Grand National has been running since 1971 and has an impressive list of previous winners.

The field includes the current Australian champion, Steve Jordan, of Queensland, three former national champions, current Tasmanian champion Jarrod Harper, four former Tasmanian champions and current Victorian champion Lucas Roberts. The field also include six previous grand national winners.

The grand national will be fought out over 15 heats over two big nights of racing with nine heats on Friday night and six more on Saturday. Saturday night’s program will also include a pre-final pole shuffle and a huge 50-lap final.

Support-class racing on Friday will include action from Formula 500s, wingless sprintcars, Tassie sixes, junior sedans, bombers and speedway karts. Racing will start for the karts at 5pm with heats of the mini-grand national, with the main program getting under way from 7pm.

On Saturday, support-class racing will include round six of the street stock sedan series, round six of the junior sedan championship series, lightning sprints, wingless sprintcars, bombers, sidecars and speedway karts. Racing will start for sidecars and a continuation of the mini-grand national for speedway karts from 4pm, with the main program starting at 6pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )