Southern Cricket Association finals

Qualifying final, 2nd Grade: Molesworth I moved a huge step closer towards a grand final berth thanks to a win over Richmond/Cambridge. Molesworth made 289 for the loss of eight wickets from 50 overs. Opening batsman Bradley Coppleman was run out with the score of 111. Nathan Eiszele gave great support with a well made 43 while Ben Eyles 28 and Ricky Martin 24 also did their bit. There was a staggering 46 extras. In reply Richmond/Cambridge was never in the hunt, being bowled out for 191 off 36.3 overs (22 extras). The Molesworth attack gave very little to their opposition with Ricky Martin capturing three wickets while Ben Eyles and Tim Nichols picked up two each. Richmond/Cambridge bowling: B. Douglas 2 for 32 off six overs, B. Wakefield 2 for 63 off 10 overs (two maidens), J. Wright 1 for 38 off seven overs, J. Griggs 1 for 49 off 10 overs, A. Bennett 1 for 65 off nine overs. Richmond/Cambridge batting: J. Wright 70, A. Bennett 38, B. Douglas 15, B. Douglas 11, J. Field 10. Molesworth bowling: Ricky Martin 3 for 25 off six overs, Ben Eyles 2 for 19 off 4.3 overs, Tim Nichols 2 for 22 off six overs (one maiden), Chris Slater 1 for 11 off four overs, Nathan Eiszele 1 for 71 off eight overs.

Elimination final: New Norfolk kept its finals hopes a live with an excellent win over Rokeby at Abbotsfield Park. New Norfolk won the toss, elected to bat and hit up the great score of 6 for 269 off 50 overs (38 extras). In reply Rokeby put up a good fight only to be bowled out for 222 off 44.2 overs (18 extras). New Norfolk batting: Ashley Morgan 55, Jamie Maddox 39, Glen Williams 33, Chris Ashcroft 28, Stewart Rice 28, Leigh Berry 25 not out, Jamie Hill 20no. New Norfolk bowling: Ashley Morgan 3 for 40 off 10 overs, Jamie Maddox 2 for 41 off 7.2 overs, Rohan Heron 2 for 57 off 10 overs, Josh Walsh 1 for 14 off two overs, Graeme Rowlands 1 for 17 off six overs (one maiden), Josh Rowlands 1 for 27 off five overs.

Qualifying final, 4th Grade: In a close match at Boyer Oval, Bushy Park suffered a two wicket loss to McRobies Gully. McRobies won the toss and sent Bushy Park in to bat. After a slow start Bushy Park got to a defendable total of 10 for 156 off 41.4 overs (23 extras). In reply McRobies scrambled its way to victory, but only just and at one stage they were 8 for 11 before finishing with 8 for 158 off 41.2 overs. Bushy Park batting: Andrew Smith 44, Terrence Pritchard 33, Shaun Fenton 29, Mitch Crosswell 10, M. Frichol 10. McRobies Gully bowling: S. Coombes 4 for 20 off 10 overs (three maidens), J. Bailey 3 for 24 off 7.4 overs (two maidens), H. Thomas 2 for 48 off nine overs, R. Mazengarb 1 for 14 off seven overs (one maiden). McRobies Gully batting: B. Hardaker 67, G. Cannan 48. Bushy Park bowling: Mitch Crosswell 3 for 15 off 10 overs (three maidens), Dylan Grant 2 for 41 off eight overs, Terrence Pritchard 1 for 28 off 8 overs (one maiden), M. Frichol 1 for 32 off nine overs (one maiden).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )
%d bloggers like this: