Honour for autumn festival

Stephen Pratt and Nick Cracknell

THE Derwent Valley Autumn Festival was named the winner of the events and tourism category in the 2012 Community Achievement Awards last weekend. The committee was well represented at the awards dinner at the Hotel Grand Chancellor on Hobart on Saturday night. There were 250 guests from across the state, hosted by Peter Murphy from Southern Cross Television.

“These awards recognise community commitment and contribution and we congratulate the Dewent Valley Autumn Festival, and all of the nominees for their achievements,” said Stephen Pratt, general manager of award sponsor Prime Super. The prize included a trophy, certificate, $1000 Commonwealth Bank account or an advertising package from Southern Cross Television. The award was accepted by festival chairman Nick Cracknell.

The festival’s award nomination said there had been an estimated 18,000 visitors at this year’s festival at New Norfolk. The volunteer committee worked endless hours to ensure that the festival had something for the whole family to enjoy. Interactive games for children, animals, food and wine, crafts and music showcased what is available in the Valley. Free entry is made possible due to naming rights sponsorship and Council, community group and local business support for the event.

The Carinya Education Park, operated by the Derwent Valley Council at the former Derwent Valley Business Enterprise Centre, was a semi-finalist in the community of the year category of the Community Achievement Awards following a nomination submitted by the council’s regional development officer. A certificate for this achievement was accepted by Councillor Judy Bromfield, general manager Stephen Mackey, youth participation officer Matthew Hill and regional development officer Jess Dallas.

The certificates can be seen on the front counter of the Derwent Valley Council Chambers in New Norfolk.

Ken Wall, Judy Gregson, Sue Cracknell, Van Ransley, Melinda Pearce, Nick Cracknell, Sylvia Rouleston, Kelly Warne, Carol Mackey, Peter Rouleston and Lois Booth with their award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )