Special night at SES

IT was a special occasion at the Derwent Valley unit of the State Emergency Service in New Norfolk tonight. SES director Andrew Lea and Derwent Valley mayor Martyn Evans headed a group of guests invited to witness the awarding of multiple medals and service pins to long-serving volunteers.

Before the formal part of the evening, unit leader Jason Lawrence showed the council representatives over the two rescue vehicles. The mayor, deputy mayor Barry Lathey, councillor Damian Bester and municipal SES co-ordinator David Bradford heard that the Derwent Valley unit are one of the SES’s busiest volunteer units. Weekly training is carried out to a high standard at the SES headquarters on the corner of Blair and George Sts in New Norfolk.

The Derwent Valley SES is responsible for emergency response to severe storms and floods, road crash rescue, search and rescue and a range of general rescue and community support roles in vast area from the Bridgewater Bridge to Strathgordon. State director Andrew Lea said it was his privilege to recognise long and diligent service of local members by presenting service awards. The recipients were:

  • Michael Rieper – five year pin
  • Sally Jeffrey – five year pin
  • Alec Lawrence – 15 year clasp
  • Melissa Lawrence – 15 year clasp
  • Nicole Lawrence – 15 year clasp
  • Anthony Bean – National Medal (15 years)
  • Claire Swinton – National Medal (15 years)
  • Dean Lawrence – National Medal (15 years)
  • Jason Lawrence – National Medal (15 years)
SES and Derwent Valley Council representatives after the medal presentation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )