Gretna chief’s half-century celebrated

Peter Rainbird, left, receives a certificate for 50
years of service to the Gretna Cricket Club from
secretary Rhys Browning.

A REMARKABLE record of 50 years service to the Gretna Cricket Club by its president Peter Rainbird was acknowledged at the  club’s annual dinner and trophy night last Saturday.

Rainbird’s contribution to the club continues to be outstanding. He has been president for nearly 30 years, served as secretary and treasurer for long periods, been captain of both Gretna I and Gretna II, and has been part of many club projects off field. Congratulations on this award Peter.

The night was well attended with around 60 players, partners, members and guests present. During the trophy presentations, it was Gretna I captain Ben Rainbird and Gretna II player Matthew Coulson who were the stand-outs with four trophies each. Another highlight was the presentation of a trophy to club stalwart Joey Hack for 400 games played.

Life members in attendance were Peter Rainbird, Joey Hack, Paul Jarvis, Glenn Blackwell, Tim Lowe, Mathew Burns and Ben Rainbird. It was also nice to have long-time sponsors Phil and Colleen Sharpe from the Gretna Green Hotel and Paul Woolford from P&S Painting present.

Congratulations to the following players on reaching various game milestones. Club games:  Todd Jarvis 200,  Wade Gleeson 100, Jordan Hastie 100, Mathew Perotti 50. Gretna I games: Jackson Ackerly 100. Gretna II games: Brian Smith 200, Mathew Perotti 50. Several club game milestones have been backdated due to T20 matches being added: Peter Jelkic 200 (reached in 2015/16, and Corey Ransley 200 (reached in 2016/17).

Trophy winners: 
Gretna I – batting average: Ben Rainbird 33.73. Aggregate: Ben Rainbird 371 runs. Bowling average: Craig Cunningham 12.63. Aggregate: Peter Jelkic 19 wickets. Most catches: Corey Ransley 9. Geoff Jarvis Memorial Trophy for best all-rounder: Ben Rainbird 255.5 points. Players’ award: Ben Rainbird 12 votes, runners-up Rhys Browning and Zac Crosswell 11 votes. Best in finals: Rhys Browning 23.5 points.

Gretna II – batting average: Matthew Coulson 38.17. Aggregate: Matthew Coulson 235 runs. Bowling average: Sam Booth 17.33. Aggregate: Aaron Browning 16 wickets. Most catches: Brian Smith 13. Best all-rounder: Matthew Coulson 225.5 points. Players’ award: Matthew Coulson 10 votes, runner-up: Aaron Browning 9 votes. Cecil Gray Memorial Trophy (Best Under 21): Zac Crosswell 215 points. Captain’s Trophy: Craig Cunningham. Duck Trophy: Adam Browning, Corey Ransley and Mathew Burns (four each).

Congratulations to all trophy winners. The club thanks all trophy donors and sponsors for their ongoing support and generosity. See you all next season.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )