Junior football best and fairest awards

Back: Riley Blackaby, left, Bailey Wheeler, Sophie
Farrow and Charlie Lovell; front: Caden Donaghy,
and Ashley Harwood.

THERE was a big crowd to cheer on all the youngsters taking part in the New Norfolk Junior Football Club best and fairest vote count at the New Norfolk District Football Clubrooms on Friday last week.

The Under 12 boys’ count was a two-way tie, with Tyler Benson and Caden Donaghy each taking home the Lyn Harris Medal on 27 votes each, while Traye Triffett was runner-up with 19 votes.

Ashley Harwood was the inaugural winner of the David Banks Medal for the newly-formed Under 13 girls’ team with 21 votes. Felicity Bomford and Shianne Jones were runners-up on 15 votes.

STJFL Beakley Medallist Bailey Wheeler took out the Peter Birchall Medal in the Under 14 boys’ competition with 33 votes. Riley Blackaby was runner up on 27.

In the Under 17 girls it was another Beakley Medallist, vice captain Charlie Lovell who took out the Cathy Adams Medal with 37 votes. The Runner up was another future star, Sophie Farrow, on 32.

The inclusion of the Under 11 and Under 13 girls’ teams is another example of female football going from strength to strength. Well done to Colette Machin, who coached both of these sides. And congratulations to longtime junior football supporter David Banks on having the Under 13 girls’ best and fairest medal named in his honour.

NNJFC president and life member Chris Lovell was recently awarded life membership of the STJFL. Well done Chris, your contribution has been outstanding. Thank you to all committee members, coaches and officials on yet another season of junior footy.

Lastly, the NNJFC sends its condolences to the family of Peter Birchall who passed away recently. Peter was a former treasurer and tireless volunteer of the club who was made a life member along with his wife Rhonda. Peter also has the Under 14 best and fairest medal named in his honour. He will be sadly missed.


UNDER 12 BOYS – Lyn Harris Medal for best and fairest: Tyler Benson and Caden Donaghy. Runner-up: Traye Triffett. Coaches’ award: Logan Robinson. Most improved: Ethan Collins. Most consistent: Riley Triffett. Votes: Tyler Benson, Caden Donaghy 27, Traye Triffett 19, Riley Triffett 18, Harry Morgan 15, Baiden Triffett 14, Kyle Picken 11, Anthony Volta 10, Logan Robinson, Ethan Collins 7, Linkin Sutton 6, Ryan Bartels 4, Takoda George 3, Conner Mayne 3, Anthony Wakefield 2, Cale Browning 2, Kady Morgan, Rori Minton, Christian Spence, Brody Browning, Amber Rainbird 1.

UNDER 13 GIRLS – David Banks Medal for best and fairest: Ashley Harwood. Runners-up: Felicity Bomford and Shianne Jones. Coaches’ award: Jazmyn Bomford. Most improved: Madelyn Cantrell. Most consistent: Taliesha Keleher. Votes: Ashley Harwood 21, Felicity Bomford, Shianne Jones 15, Taliesha Keleher 14, Kady Morgan, Kia Keleher 12, Naomi Machin 11, Jazmyn Bomford 10, Isabel Hinds 9, Lily Cantrell, Christina Green, Caley Quillerat 5, Zahli Piuselli 1.

UNDER 14 BOYS – Peter Birchall Medal for best and fairest: Bailey Wheeler. Runner-up: Riley Blackaby. Coaches’ award: Ryan Coppleman and Brodie Scanlon. Most improved: Hayden Burns and Bailey Chaplin. Most consistent: Mitchel Hay. Best utility: Jakob Quarrell and Jack Miller. Best in finals: Riley Blackaby. Votes: Bailey Wheeler 33, Riley Blackaby 27, Mitchel Hay 26, Jacob Quarrell 21, Blake Triffett 18, Jack Miller 15, Hayden Burns 13, Brodie Scanlon 11, Bailey Chaplin 6, Ryan Coppleman 5, Logan Triffett 3, Liam Harwood, Tye Oakley 1.

UNDER 17 GIRLS – Cathy Adams Medal for best and fairest: Charlie Lovell. Runner-up: Sophie Farrow. Coaches’ award: Zoe Hoskinson, Stephanie Griffiths and Perri King. Best utility: Danika Triffett. Most consistent: Brianna Oates. Best in finals: Perri King. Top of the Town Bakery Rising Star Award: Perri King. Votes: Charlie Lovell 37, Sophie Farrow 32, Brianna Oates 26, Perri King 25, Madison Shaw 23, Zoe Hoskinson 14, Stephanie Griffiths 11, D’arne Triffett 5, Lucy Watson 3, Danika Triffett 2, Georgie Shaw, Jemma Foley 1.

50-GAME MILESTONES – UNDER 10s: Sebastian Farrow, Tylah Morgan, Bailey Morgan, Ronan Hunt. UNDER 11s: James Banks, Hemi Harwood, Jonte Bennett. UNDER 12s: Baiden Triffett, Riley Triffett, Logan Robinson, Traye Triffett, Anthony Volta. UNDER 14s: Logan Triffett, Cruez Brooks-Harwood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )