Cricket clubs award their best players

Nathan Heron won the New Norfolk Cricket Club’s
best player award last Saturday night.

AS the 2018/19 cricket season nears its end, local clubs are beginning to hold their annual awards.

Nathan Heron has taken out the Adrian Eiszele Medal as the best men’s player at the New Norfolk Cricket Club. Heron, who captained New Norfolk III in fifth grade, won the title with 17 votes, just one ahead of joint runners-up Jordan Willoughby and Steven Sillifant on  16 votes apiece. Next were Seb Wishart on 14, Jason Rigby and Josh Walsh on 13 each, and Jake King on 12.

In the New Norfolk club’s women’s best and fairest award, team captain Hannah Mann won with 11 votes, two clear of runner-up Lisa East on 9, followed by Kelly Read on 5 votes.

At the Bushy Park Cricket Club, Troy Smith took out the best and fairest award for the 50-over matches and Mitchell Crosswell was runner up. In the T20 matches, Jack Evans was voted best player while Mitchell Crosswell showed his all round ability and was runner up here also.

The Gretna Cricket Club will hold its Players Award vote count on Sunday, March 17, at the Gretna War Memorial Oval.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )