Emergency services award for local volunteer

NEW Norfolk’s Kerryn Bone has been named the southern regional winner of the RSL Tasmania Emergency Services Volunteer of the Year Award for 2018.

Presenting the award on Saturday night, RSL Tasmania southern vice president David Webb said Ms Bone had served as a volunteer ambulance officer in the Derwent Valley for 21 years.

Mr Webb said Ms Bone had constantly demonstrated excellence in her role with Ambulance Tasmania. “A pattern of excellence has been maintained both on road and during volunteer ambulance officer  group training where she has been elected by her peers as their group co-ordinator,” he said.

“This responsibility clearly demonstrates her clinical excellence in out-of-hospital care, while simultaneously achieving her Bachelor of Nursing,” Mr Webb said.

Based at the New Norfolk Ambulance Station on a roster basis, Ms Bone has often been called out without warning, in all weather conditions and at any time of the day or night to assist paramedics in difficult, dangerous and often time-consuming and intensive medical treatment scenes. “Her continued contribution to the Derwent Valley residents’ recovery and rehabilitation is of utmost importance,” Mr Webb said.

In her professional capacity Ms Bone has worked for some years in the Neurosurgical Unit at the Royal Hobart Hospital. “Working on this ward is both physically and emotionally draining and yet she is still dedicated to her voluntary ambulance service,” Mr Webb said.

“The ambulance service statewide would not function as effectively without such dedicated, experienced and long-term volunteers such as Kerryn, who continues to perform at the highest level today as the training co-ordinator at the expressed wishes of her peers. We congratulate Kerryn Bone, a most worthy recipient of the RSL Tasmania Emergency Services Worker of the year award.”

Kerryn Bone, left, receiving her award from RSL Tasmania
southern vice-president David Webb.

RSL Tasmania chief executive Noeleen Lincoln said the organisation had sponsored annual recognition awards for Tasmanian emergency services personnel since 2013.

Regional award winners and the overall winner are named at the Australasian Institute of Emergency Services’ P.J. Parssey Memorial Prize Annual Dinner.

RSL Sub Branches around the state are asked to nominate an emergency services person, paid or voluntary, from their local area who meets the following criteria:

  • Open to all Emergency Service Personnel, including Permanent, Volunteer or Affiliated Services
  • Quiet Achiever
  • Enthusiastic and dedicated to their service and community
  • Willingness to help others – a friend in need, good team member
  • Loyalty
  • They may not be on the front line all the time, they may work behind the scene or involved in a
  • particular incident, shown courage and comfort in a time of need, providing welfare services or in an affiliated support role
  • May be a group or team effort
  • Displaying the qualities of the Anzac spirit.

Regional winners such as Ms Bone receive a framed certificate and an engraved RSL plaque in recognition of their achievement. The over-all winner receives a certificate, a personal keepsake and  perpetual shield in recognition of their service.

Ms Bone was the Derwent Valley Council’s citizen of the year for 2015. Her mother Carol was also a medical volunteer, giving long service to St John Ambulance in New Norfolk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )