Gretna Cricket Club celebrates the seaoon

Gretna Cricket Club life members, back from left: Peter Rainbird,
Ben Rainbird, Mathew Burns, Michael Browning and Joey Hack.
Front: Paul Jarvis, Micky Rainbird, Wade Gleeson.

THE New Norfolk Golf Club was the new venue for Gretna Cricket Club’s annual dinner and trophy presentations night recently. The evening was a successful one with some 70 players, members, sponsors and trophy donors in attendance.

After an outstanding season with Gretna I, Craig Cunningham took home four awards. This summer saw him take 38 wickets at an average of just 9.26 with best figures of 7/19. The all rounder also made 319 runs with a top score of 56.

For Gretna II, Jake Campbell went home with three trophies  including the award for the best player voted by his team mates. Campbell led the way with the ball taking 14 wickets at an average of 20.71.

Zac Crosswell took home the best Under 21 trophy for the third time in the past four seasons, while Mathew Burns was presented with a trophy for his outstanding achievement on playing 400 games.

The following players reached various milestones during the season – club games played: Ross Langford 100, Rhys Browning 150, Aaron Maddox 150, Adam Browning 150, Jackson Ackerly 200, Ben Rainbird 350, Mathew Burns 400; games played for Gretna I: Zac Crosswell 50, Craig Cunningham 200, Corey Ransley 200; games played for Gretna II: Jordan Hastie 100.

Well done to Gretna I captain Ben Rainbird whose side was runner-up in second grade and to Gretna II Jordan Hastie for his work with his young team in fourth grade. Thanks also to Colin Cunningham for his coaching throughout the season.

Life members in attendance were: Peter Rainbird, Joey Hack, Michael Browning, Paul Jarvis, Micky Rainbird, Mathew Burns and Ben Rainbird. Among the special guests were Derwent Valley mayor Ben Shaw and wife Jackie and the MLC for Derwent, Craig Farrell and his wife Lee.

At the conclusion of the trophy presentations, life membership was bestowed on Wade Gleeson who has been involved with the club since the 2001/02 season. During that time he has been secretary for 10 years, junior development officer for seven years and is currently the sponsorship officer. He has also had a keen interest with the club’s history and statistics. Gleeson is the club’s 20th life member.

Due to the St Mary’s Parish Hall at Gretna being sold, the presentation night needed a new venue and the New Norfolk Golf Club fitted the bill perfectly. The old hall was a very big part of the Gretna Cricket Club ‘s culture for many decades. The club thanks the golf club for its hospitality and also thanks Chloe Gleeson for her efforts in decorating the venue in the club colours of green and gold, helping to set the scene for a great night.

Appreciation was also expressed for the support of sponsors State-Wide Earthworks, Banjos Bakery Cafe New Norfolk, Gretna Green Hotel, the Bush Inn Hotel, DC Plant Hire, Derwent Valley Glass, P&S Painting, R.E. Clark and Son Butcher, and Gilbert Automotive.

Also deserving of recognition are club president Peter Rainbird, secretary Rhys Browning and treasurer Todd Jarvis. Lastly, our writer did not know what was more entertaining during the night:  Jason “Dasha” Daniels wearing the varnish off the dance floor, or the trip home with him in the back of Corey Ransley’s Hilux. See you all next season.

Batting average: Aaron Maddox 40.80; Aggregate: Rhys Browning 332 runs; Bowling average: Craig Cunningham, 9.26; Aggregate: Craig Cunningham 38 wickets; Most catches: Corey Ransley 10; Geoff Jarvis Memorial Trophy (best all-rounder): Craig Cunningham, 101.60 points; Players award: Craig Cunningham, 21 votes; Runners up: Corey Ransley and Mathew Burns 12 votes each; Best in finals: Ben Rainbird 25.9 points.

Batting average: Ross Langford 22.71; Aggregate: Jordan Hastie 204 runs; Bowling average: Jake Campbell 20.71; Aggregate: Jake Campbell 14 wickets; Most catches: Josh Whitford 7; Best all-rounder: Josh Whitford 42 points; Players award: Jake Campbell 13 votes; Runner up: Jordan Hastie 9 votes.

Cecil Gray Memorial Trophy (best under 21): Zac Crosswell 47 points; 400 Games: Mathew Burns; Captains Trophy: Zac Webb; Best Clubman: Jamie Duggan; Duck Trophy: Zac Webb and Steven Medhurst 6 each; Life membership: Wade Gleeson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )