Walsh named Red Caps’ best for 2018/19

Trophy donor and NNCC life member Adrian Eiszele, left,
presents the Best Club Person Award to Josh Walsh.

ANOTHER successful season for the New Norfolk Cricket Club was celebrated at the annual trophy presentation dinner at the New Norfolk District Football Clubrooms.

Among the many trophy winners the highly-regarded favourite, Josh Walsh, was presented with the big award – the Charlie Eiszele Perpetual Trophy for the Best Club Person. Walsh’s contribution to the club is second to none. He is the club’s junior president, a junior coach and a senior player just to name a few of his roles.

Batsman Jordan Willoughby took out the First Grade Club Champion Award (Lyn Harris Memorial Trophy) with 757 points. Willoughby had a fantastic season with the bat making 534 runs, which also saw him take out the batting aggregate award.

Stewart Rice showed age is no barrier, taking out the Third Grade Club Champion Award with 633 points while Nathan Heron took out the same award in Fifth Grade with 625 points. Of the women’s awards, captain Hannah Mann took out the best all-rounder trophy.

In Third Grade, premiership captain Jake “Don Bradman” King had an exceptional season making 509 runs with an outstanding average of 101.80. King guided his team to winning both the T20 and 50-over premierships of which the team won 18 matches from 19 played.

Nathan Rice and his mother Sharyn Rice.

The function on May 25 was a great night for the club with a big attendance of some 88 people in attendance. The band the Dirty Birds played great live music through out the night and a great meal was enjoyed by all.

The club thanks all of its valued trophy donors and sponsors DRV Welding and Fabrication, Burn Function Fitness, Schweppes, Specialised Industrial Products, 9/11 Bottle Shops, New Norfolk District Football Club Rooms and Banjo’s New Norfolk. Special guests in attendance were Craig Farrell MLC and Lee Farrell, Cr Julie Triffett and Brian Mitchell MHR.

Looking to next season, the club has reappointed Jason Rigby as head coach and Seb Wishart as assistant coach (batting). With three senior men’s teams, one senior women’s team and two junior teams, the club is in great shape and with plans in the wind to have the Tynwald Park facilities upgraded to have both men’s and women’s change rooms, a function area and a new kitchen, the club looks forward to a vibrant future.

At the club’s annual general meeting held on May 26, the following office bearers and committee members were elected for the 2019/20 season. Office bearers – president: Jamie Hill; vice president: Daniel Vagg; junior president: Joshua Walsh; treasurer: Nathan Heron; secretary: Tammy Hill; assistant secretary: Trent Mayne: association delegate: Trent Mayne.

Committee members elected were: Adrian Eiszele, Rohan Heron, Leigh Berry, Stephen Nichols, Tony Clay, Glenn Heron, Lisa East, Steve Sillifant, Teena Sillifant, Kelly Read and Tania Morgan



New Norfolk II 3rd Grade premiership players, back from left:
Richard Graham, Jye Bearman, Cody Neads, Chris Ashcroft,
Dave Mitchelmore and Leigh Berry; front: Jordan Banks-Smith,
Aaron Drew, Cody Morgan, Jamie Hill and Josh Walsh; absent:
Jake King (captain) and Stewart Rice.

Charlie Eiszele Perpetual Trophy – Best Club Person (donated by Adrian Eiszele): Josh Walsh; Club Champions – 1st Grade: Jordan Willoughby 757 points (Lyn Harris Memorial Trophy donated by Daniel and Anita Vagg; 3rd Grade: Stewart Rice 633 points (donated by Glenn and Robyn); 5th Grade: Nathan Heron 625 points (donated by Banjos New Norfolk).

Batting aggregate – 1st Grade (donated by Stewart and Sharyn Rice): Jordan Willoughby, 534 runs; 3rd Grade (donated by Tammy Hill): Jake King, 509 runs; 5th Grade (donated by Anthony Bewley): Steve Sillifant, 397 runs.

Batting average – 1st Grade (donated by Tania and Dave): Seb Wishart, 49.90; 3rd Grade (donated by Rohan Heron: Jake King, 101.80; 5th Grade (donated by Nathan Heron: Steve Sillifant, 33.08.

Bowling aggregate – 1st Grade (donated by  Vicki Morgan): Jye Lester, 21 wickets); 3rd Grade (donated by Kev Sturzaker): Stewart Rice, 27 wickets; 5th Grade (donated by Steve and Teena):  Nathan Heron, 25 wickets.

Bowling average – 1st Grade (donated by the Morgan Family): Jordon Willoughby, 14.69; 3rd Grade (donated by Cr Julie Triffett): Richard Graham, 8.05; 5th Grade (donated by Heiko and Julie Hannibal): Nathan Heron, 13.16.

New Norfolk Women’s team, back from left: coach Brad Kemmler,
Kelley Kemmler, Teagan Kemmler, Tania Morgan, Teena Sillifant,
Amber Butler; front: captain Hannah Mann, Lisa East, Kelly Read.

Women’s team – Best Batter: Kelly Read (donated by Jessica Whelan); Best Bowler: Kelly Kemmler (donated by Jessica Whelan); Best All Rounder: Hannah Mann (donated by Lisa Nossiter); and Coaches Award: Amity Booth (donated by Brad Kemmler).

Special awards – Best First-Year player (donated by Seb Wishart): Jye Lester; Coaches Award (Donated by Jason Rigby): Richard Graham; Duck Award (donated by Stephen Nichols): Jordan Banks-Smith 10; Best Under 21 (donated by Glen and Rachel Williams): Jye Lester; Encouragement Award (donated by Josh Walsh): Luke Jarvis; Most Improved (donated by Leigh Berry): David Mitchelmore.

Most catches – 1st Grade (donated by Banjos New Norfolk): Matt Bowden, 11; 3rd Grade (donated by Adam Nossiter): Leigh Berry, 11; 5th Grade (donated by Banjo’s New Norfolk): Steve Sillifant, 8.

Best fielder – 1st Grade (donated by Jamie Hill); Jordan Banks-Smith, 8 votes; 3rd Grade (donated by Daniel and Anita Vagg): Jye Bearman, 5 votes): 5th Grade (donated by Trent Mayne): Rhys Franklin, 5 votes.

Best T20 player – 1st Grade (donated by Tony Clay): Seb Wishart; 3rd Grade (donated by Craig Farrell MLC): Richard Graham; 5th Grade (donated by PRD Nationwide/Paul Reed): Nathan Heron.

Chris Ashcroft, Penelope Coogan, Amy Williams, Nathan Heron
and Jason Rigby at the trophy night.

Best in Finals (donated by Brian Mitchell MHR) – 1st Grade: Seb Wishart; 3rd Grade: Cody Neads.

100s: Jake King, 172 v Old Beach (donated by Cr Julie Triffett); Jake King 130no v Old Beach ( (Donated by Banjos New Norfolk); Chris Ashcroft 102 v Old Beach (donated by NNDFC Clubrooms); Ryan Banks-Smith 116 v Bagdad (donated by Craig Farrell MLC); Jordan Banks-Smith 119 v Montagu Bay (donated by Craig Farrell MLC); Jason Rigby 115no v Montagu Bay (donated by Senator Steve Martin); Rohan Heron 100 v Rokeby (donated by Senator Steve Martin).

5fas: Nathan Heron 6-33 v Brighton (donated by NNDFC Clubrooms; Rhys Franklin 5-6 v Brighton (donated by Vicki Morgan);  Stu Muir 5-16 v Bushy Park (donated by Craig Farrell MLC); Richard Graham 5-28 v Mackillop (donated by Jessica Whelan); Richard Graham 5-19 v Campania (donated by Jessica Whelan); Jamie Hill 6-24 v Richmond (donated by Guy Barnett MHA); Jye Lester 5-21 v Rokeby (donated by Guy Barnett MHA); Josh Walsh 7-7 v Campania (donated by Schweppes).

New Norfolk Cricket Club Life members, back from left: Graeme Rowlands,
Stephen Nichols, Adrian Eiszele, Rohan Heron, Adrian Rowlands; front: Tony
Clay, Chris Ashcroft, Sharyn Rice, Glenn Heron, Wendy Rowlands, Jamie Hill
and Nathan Heron.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )