Junior club names its best and fairest

Back from left: Under 14 Girls runner-up Felicity Bomford, Under 14 Girls
Best & Fairest Bree Browning,  Under 13 Boys runner up Harry Morgan, Under
15 Boys Best & Fairest Beau Kline. Front: Under 14 Girls runner-up Shakaylee
Cashion, U/13 Boys Best & Fairest Caden Donaghy, and Under 15 boys Runner
Up Riley Blackaby.

IT was a Red, White and Black theme for the New Norfolk Junior Football Club’s annual best and fairest count and trophy presentations last Friday night.

Held at the NNDFC clubrooms, the event saw some 150 players, officials, parents and guests end the 2019 season in style, dressing in classy attire for what was one of the best nights in some time.

In the Under 13 Boys, it was a close call with Caden Donaghy polling 38 votes to take out the Stephen and Tina Rhodes Medal. Donaghy finished just four clear of runner-up Harry Morgan on 34 votes, while Traye Triffett was right up there with 33.

In the Peter Birchall Medal for Under 14 Girls, Bree Browning took out the award with 28 votes, eight clear of dual runners-up Felicity Bomford and Shakaylee Cashion on 20 votes apiece.

In the Under 15 Boys count for the Geoff and Carol Horne Medal, it was a close call with Beau Kline taking out the best and fairest with 32 votes, just one vote ahead of runner-up Riley Blackaby on 31 votes, while just two votes back was Brodie Scanlon on 29.

Rising Star Award winner Mitchell Hay.

Medal presentations were kindly made by Rodney Williams for the Under 13 Boys, Cathy Adams for the Under 14 Girls and Leigh Horne for the Under Boys. The club would also like to thank sponsors Banjos New Norfolk, Pauly’s Pizza, R.E. Clark & Son Butchers and the Derwent Valley Council.

At the conclusion of the counts and trophy presentations, a disco was held for all age groups. Prizes for the Belle and Beau of the Ball went to Dekoda Cashion for the girls, while for the boys it was Hayden Burns. The door sales, raffle, silent auction and money wall raised $1295 for the club.

The NNJFC would like to thank all coaches and team managers for their untiring efforts during what was a successful season. The club had 12 teams from Under 8 through to Under 15 this season and it was pleasing to see the high numbers participating in the Auskick program.  Well done everyone.

And big shout out to the committee and helpers: president Chris Lovell; finance director Ann Burns; manager David Banks; minutes secretary Tash Bartels; property officer Ann Burns; clothing/merchandise director Tash Bartels; canteen co-ordinators Narelle Lowe and Ann Burns; sponsorship director Ann Burns; coaching director: Dean King; Auskick to Under 11 vice-president Damien Farrow; Under 12-15 vice president David Bartels; patron Paul Belcher; Family Day and Best and Fairest night organisers Ann Burns, Renee Chaplin and Allison Morgan; and vote count presentations co-ordinator Vanessa Britten.

Belle of the Ball Dekoda Cashion.

Life members in attendance were Michael Browning, Cathy Adams and Rodney Williams. Derwent Valley mayor Ben Shaw announced that funding had been secured for new clubrooms at Tynwald Park, with male and female changerooms. With female football growing every year, this is a  timely addition as the club this season added Under 10, Under 12 and Under 14 girls teams.

During the evening a special presentation was made to Ann Burns, whose contribution during the season has been exceptional and the NNJFC is very lucky to have such a passionate volunteer.



Under 13 Boys – Stephen and Tina Rhodes Medal
Best & Fairest: Caden Donaghy 38 votes
Runner up: Harry Morgan 34 votes
Traye Triffett 33
Tyler Benson 29
Anthony Volta 22
Ethan Collins 11
Kyle Picken 10
Riley Triffett 9
Baiden Triffett 7
Connor Mayne 5
Linkin Sutton 4
Logan Triffett 4
Jacob Foster 1
Ryan Bartels 1
Connor Blakaby 1
Logan Robertson 1

Under 14 Girls – Peter Birchall Medal
*Hayley James 41 votes
*Jazmyn Bartels 30 votes
Best & Fairest: Bree Browning 28 votes
Runners up: Felicity Bomford and Shakaylee Cashion, 20 votes each
Taleisha Keleher 17
Tiana Mathews 15
Tyler Hepburn 11
Lilly Smith 10
Kady Morgan 9
Ashley Harwood 7
*Sophie Lincoln 5
*Kia Keleher 5
Jorja Franklin 3
Lillie Holloway 3
Kriscinda Westbury 1
*Over-age player – ineligible.

Under 15 Boys – Geoff and Carol Horne Medal
Best and Fairest: Beau Kline 32 votes
Runner up: Riley Blackaby 31 votes
Brodie Scanlon 29
Jorden Conley 23
Mitchel Hay 22
Bailey Wheeler 22
Jack Miller 21
Connor Woodham 11
Bailey Chaplin 9
Cameron McMaster 5
Hayden Burns 4
Liam Howard 1

All best and fairest counts were run with a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 voting system per game.

Under 13 Boys
Stephen and Tina Rhodes Medal: Caden Donaghy 38 votes
Best and Fairest: Caden Donaghy 38 votes
Runner Up: Harry Morgan 34 votes
Coaches Award: Logan Robinson
Coaches Award: Ryan Bartels
Most Improved: Baiden Triffett
Most Improved: Koda George
Most Consistent: Anthony Volta
Most Consistent Backman: Traye Triffett

Under 14 Girls
Peter Birchall Medal: Bree Browning 28 votes
Best and Fairest: Bree Browning 28 votes
Runners up: Felicity Bomford and Shakaylee Cashion 20 votes
Coaches Award: Ashley Harwood
Most Improved: Tiana Mathews
Most Consistent: Taliesha Keleher

Under 15 Boys
Geoff and Carol Horne Medal: Beau Kline 32 votes
Best and Fairest: Beau Kline 32 votes
Runner Up: Riley Blackaby 31 votes
Coaches Award: Bailey Wheeler
Coaches Award: Mitchell Hay
Most Improved: Bailey Chaplin
Most Improved: Hayden Burns
Most Consistent: Brodie Scanlon

Top of the Town Bakery Rising Star Award: Mitchell Hay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )