Parker named Eagles best and fairest

Senior Best and Fairest Marcus Parker.

GOALKICKING ace Marcus Parker took out this year’s Les Hepper Medal in a runaway win at the New Norfolk District Football Club vote count and trophy presentations night last weekend. After a big season in front of goals, Parker won the Eagles’ Best and Fairest award by the big margin of 45 votes.

Jacob Wigg and Jye County were dual runners-up with 52 votes each, and not far behind were Josh Hills on 50, Blair Wardlaw 48 and Jacob Daley 47. Parker put on a dominant display at full forward for the Eagles this season, kicking 85 goals from 15 matches. At this rate, the big 100 could well be reached in the 2020 season.

Congratulations also to Parker on winning the SFL Leading Goal Kicker Award with 77 goals during the home and away season. Parker then bagged eight in the elimination final to finish with a total of 85.

Seniors Awards – Les Hepper Medal (Best & Fairest): Marcus Parker 97 votes; Runners-up: Jacob Wigg and Jye County 52 votes each; Most Consistent: Josh Hills; Betty Crosswell Rising Star Award: Cody Morgan; Best Backman: Torne Tangata; Best Utility: Jordan Banks-Smith; Coaches Award: Jordan Eiszele; Best Clubmen: Jacob Wigg and Jacob Daley; Players Choice: Marcus Parker; Best Onballer: Jacob Wigg; Most Improved: Ben Lovell; Leading Goal Kicker: Marcus Parker 85 goals.

Senior Best and Fairest tally: Marcus Parker 97; Jacob Wigg 52; Jye County 52; Josh Hills 50; Blair Wardlaw 48; Jacob Daley 47; Ben Lovell 38; Daniel Coppleman 33; Rohan Heron 30; Braydan Chaplin 23; Josh Farrow 19; Cody Morgan 18; Tyson Eiszele 17; Jordan Banks-Smith 17; Zeke Slater 15; Jake Bearman 14; Rowan Thomason 13; Josh Clifford 11; Ashley Burgess 11; Nathan Eiszele 9; Torne Tangata 7; Jake Foster 7; Rhys Franklin 1; Brad Ransley 1.

WOMEN: In the women’s Best and Fairest Award, it was a very close affair with Corina Percey polling 36 votes and taking out the award just one vote clear of runner-up Sharni Devine on 35 votes. Both players had a good season. Much credit goes to the whole team, as they are the pioneers of this team. It’s great to see women’s footy growing in the valley.

Womens Awards – Best & Fairest: Corina Percey 36 votes; Runner-up: Sharni Devine 35 votes; Most Consistent: Chantel Skeggs; Best Backwoman: Gail McNeil; Coaches Award: Sarah Cantrell; Best Allrounder: Jasmine Skelly; Best Club Person: Jodie Kenzig; Goalkickers: Katlin Rainbird, Brianna Franklin, Corina Percy.

Womens Best and Fairest tally: Corina Percey 36; Sharni Devine 35; Sarah Cantrell 24; Jasmine Skelly 21; Kimberley Slater 17; Jodie Kenzig 15; Kylie Kelty 14; Tahila Mundy 14; Hannah McMaster 14; Joanne Flakemore 11; Kaitlen Rainbird 11; Madeline Visser 11; Brianna Franklin 9; Chantel Skeggs 8; Kiara Harris 7; Jemma Folley 7; Natalie Flakemore 7; Gail McNeill 6; Billie Jo Keep 5; Jade Cleaver 4; Shey Manser 3; Nevenka McKenzie 3; Linda Walker 2; Cinna Taylor 1; Kristy Hansch 1; Brittany Bartels 1; Susan Walker 1.

RESERVES: Luke Browning polled well to take home the Roydon Howard Medal for the Reserves Best and Fairest for the second year in a row. Browning, with his 54 votes, has has been a consistent performer for many season in the red,white and black and this certainly typifies his efforts. The ever-reliable player won by a clear 14 votes from runner-up Josh Walsh on 40. Walsh put in a very big pre-season and certainly had his efforts rewarded, playing 12 reserves and four senior games.

Also a big well done to Browning on being runner-up for the SFL’s George Watt Medal (reserves best and fairest), finishing just one vote shy of the joint winners Shaun Clark (Lindisfarne) and Dylan Ford (Brighton).

Reserves Awards – Roydon Howard Medal (Best & Fairest): Luke Browning 54 votes; Best & Fairest Runner-up: Josh Walsh 40 votes; Most Consistent: Conna Balmer; Best Backman: Josh Walsh; Best Clubman: Craig Coppleman; Coaches Award: Mathew Jones; Best Allrounder: Tyler Purdon; Leading Goalkicker. Corey Ransley 28.

Reserves Best and Fairest tally: Luke Browning 54; Josh Walsh 40; Tom Bligh 37; Corey Ransley 27; Tyler Purdon 20; Jake Foster 13; Brad Ransley 11; Andrew Minchin 9; Cody Neads 9; Zeek Harris 9; Josh Ransley 8; Matthew Jones 7; Luke Crosswell 6; Brinley Tomlin 6; Rohan Heron 6; Michael Murray 5; Ashley Burgess 4; Corey Keleher 4; Dylan Morgan 3; Richard Graham 3; Jaidyn Fisher-Cooley 3; Leigh Nichols 2; Conlan Balmer 1; Jaiden Triffett 1.

COLTS: Caleb Triffett took out the J.H. Dixon Medal for Best and Fairest, polling 52 votes. The highly-skilled Triffett won by the big margin of 18 votes to runner-up Corey Keleher on 34. Triffett has shown he has what it takes as a footballer and will be looking to become a regular senior player in the not to distant future.

Colts Awards (Under 19s) – J.H Dixon Medal (Best & Fairest): Caleb Triffett 52 votes; Best & Fairest Runner-up: Corey Keleher 34 votes; Most Consistent: Hayden Davis; Best Backman: Jordan George; Best Clubman. Anthony Bean; Coaches Award: Zac Holloway; Taylor Lacey Memorial Award: Will Banks.

Colts Best and Fairest tally: Caleb Triffett 52; Corey Keleher 34; Hayden Davis 29; Will Banks 28; Jordan George 27; Jack Morgan 24; Sam Walker 18; Ethan Holden 17; Zack Holloway 15; Thomas Rainbird 9; Jaiden Triffett 8; Zac Wheeler 7; Tyler Scanlon 6; Blake Howlett 6; Cody Morgan 3; Tatem Lovell 2; Sam Holloway 2; Brock Triffett 1.

Jye County, left, Marcus Parker and Jacob Wigg with their awards.

The seniors best and fairest count was run by three cards of 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 votes per round. The Womens, Reserves and Colts were run by three cards of 3, 2, 1 votes per round.

Well done to all the coaches and president Sally Coleman and her board members on a great season.  A big thank you to Vanessa Britten for her work in putting together all four team vote counts. Many hours are given by Vanessa to see that the counts all run smoothly and the club really appreciates her efforts.

During the presentations, long time player Ben Lovell was presented with playing life membership of the club. Lovell has given great service to the club, playing 160 senior and 19 reserves matches, including five senior grand finals for four premierships. Well done Ben, your award is well deserved.

Season stats and game totals supplied by Ray Aitchison:

  • New players: T. Tangata, A. Drew, J. Haremza, B. Howlett, E. Monks, L. Nichols, J. Triffett and S. Walker.
  • Josh Clifford 200th senior game.
  • Ben Lovell 150th senior game.
  • Tyson Eiszele 50th senior and club game.
  • Marcus Parker 50th senior and club game.
  • Matthew Jones 100th club game.
  • Ashley Burgess 50th club game.
  • Conlan Balmer 50th reserves game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )