Glenora school awards for 2019

CONGRATULATIONS to all the recipients of awards at Glenora District School’s presentation assembly on December 17 and the donors who made them possible.

Awards were presented to students in the primary and secondary sections of the school. Grade 10 student Mia Temple received five awards including Dux of the School.

Special Awards
New Norfolk Lions Club Citizenship & Service Award: Cain Plunkett.
Mark Shelton MHA School Spirit Award: Evie Anning.
John Tucker MHA Initiative & Effort Award: Marcus Thurston.
Senator Carol Brown Award for Special Contribution to the School: Mollie Fenton.
Shepherd Family Awards for Service to the Community: Hannah King, Charlie Smith, Brandon Plunkett.
Guy Barnett MHA Volunteering Spirit Award: Connor Gittus.
Senator Eric Abetz All Round Consistency and Effort Award: Callie Cooper.
Shellie Triffett Award for School Values: Meegan Jordan.
Brian Mitchell MHR Award for Engagement and Participation in Secondary School: Logan Smythe.
Jen Butler MHA Award for Engagement and Participation in Primary School: Hayden Plunkett.
Bushy Park Show Society Award for Agricultural Studies: Brandon Plunkett.
Derwent Valley Masonic Lodge Award for Transition from Primary to Secondary: Dylan Russell.
Central Highlands Council Mayor’s Citizenship Award: Harry Townsend.
Steven Cashion Memorial Trophy (Secondary Outstanding Sportsperson): Christopher Hall.
SRC Outstanding Primary Sportsperson Award: Cooper Smythe.
Sporting Participation Award (Primary): Callie Cooper, Logan Hunt.
Effort and Endeavour Awards (Primary): Gracie-Lee Denny-Donoghue, Ellie Scherer, Bailey Hall, Wayde Quinn, James Conley, Darcy Lovell, Aleisha Conley, Taylor Davidson.
Citizenship and Service Awards (Primary): Edward Burgess, Brooklyn Wheeler, Ruby Lovell, Chelsea Tuckett, Indianna Hill, Almar Jr Castro.
Award for Special Efforts in Senior Primary: George Picken.
Senator Claire Chandler Award for Commitment to Learning: Pacie Cowen.
Special Merit Awards (Secondary): Logan Smythe, Meegan Jordan, Wil Edmonds, Tyrone Skinner.
Caltex All-Round Achievement Award: Tasha Kaye.
Rebecca White MHA Glenora Merit Award: Brock Hill.
Craig Farrell MLC Participation Award (Secondary School): Jordan Smith.
Craig Farrell MLC Primary School Co-operation Award: Liam Anderson.
Minister for Education’s Respectful Schools Award: Piper Triffitt.
Primary School Academic Excellence Awards: Zoey Crosswell, Reece Anderson, Kayla Smythe, Duncan Franklin, Hayden Plunkett, Lola Stroh, Callie Cooper, Cooper Smythe.
Secondary Academic Excellence Awards: Tasha Kaye, Isabella Cooper, Brandon Plunkett, Mia Temple.
Damian Bester Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Literacy: Kayla Smythe (Primary School) and Emily Bester (Secondary School).
Maydena Community Association Award: Hayley Chesters.
Claremont College Award: Mia Temple.

Brandon Plunkett, left, Hannah King and Charlie Smith receive
Service to the School Community Awards from Ken Shepherd on
behalf of the Shepherd Family.

Glenora School Association Awards
Award for Hospitality: Billy Petterwood, Shakira Ransley.
Award for Art (Secondary): Billy Petterwood.
Award for Multi-Media: Cain Plunkett.
Award for Encouragement of Lifelong Learning in Numeracy: Brandon Plunkett.
Award for Materials, Design and Technology: Tyrone Skinner.
Award for Automotive Engineering: Tyrone Skinner.
Award for Encouragement of Lifelong Learning in Literacy: Tasha Kaye.
Award for Science: Mia Temple.
Award for History: Locklin Evans.
Award for Health and Wellbeing: Christopher Hall.
Award for the Arts (Primary): Chelsea Tuckett, Grace Matthews.
Award for Primary Numeracy: Jesse Wallner.
Award for Primary Literacy: Lola Stroh.
Award for Initiative and Effort: Milla Hunt.
Trevor McHugh Leadership and Service Award: Abbey Bailey.

Central Highlands Council Further Education Bursary: Georgia Edmonds.
Bushy Park Estates Bursary: Mia Temple.
Norske Skog Bursary to Higher Education: Liam Chatters, Troy Leaman, Cain Plunkett, Tyrone Skinner.
Derwent Valley Council Bursary: Jordon Gittus.
ADF Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award: Cain Plunkett.
Premier of Tasmania Education Inspiration Scholarship: Christopher Hall.

Dux of the School
Veart Memorial Award for Excellence – Dux of the School (donated by Student Representative Council and Damian Bester): Mia Tample.

Glenora District School graduates 2019
Ethan Bearman, Liam Chatters, Hayley Chesters, Georgia Edmonds, Jordon Gittus, Adam Hall, Christopher Hall, Troy Leaman, Robert Marriott, Ben Meares, Billie Petterwood, Cain Plunkett, Shakira Ransley, Tyrone Skinner, Mia Temple, Imogen Watt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )