cricket team and supporters

Back-to-back cricket premierships for New Norfolk

THE New Norfolk Redcaps are the Southern Cricket Association premiers for another year after defeating Old Beach at Tynwald Park on Saturday, finishing 5/240 to Old Beach’s 9/237. New Norfolk had won the toss and sent the Bushrangers in to bat. The game was reduced to 45 overs per side due to a late start caused by dew on the ground.

The back-to-back first grade premiership follows New Norfolk being awarded victory in the previous season despite that year’s decider being unable to be played due to COVID-19. In the after-game presentations, the umpires named New Norfolk’s Sebastian Wishart as man of the match. Accepting the medal, Wishart congratulated the Old Beach team on a great season and thanked the crowd for turning out to watch the decider.

New Norfolk captain/coach Jason Rigby thanked the Bushrangers side for being competitive throughout the season. “I think every game we’ve played pretty much has gone down to the wire,” he said. He also thanked the association, umpires sponsors and all supporters before reflecting on the changed circumstances since last season’s win. “We got the chocolates last year by default so it’s nice to actually play cricket and get a win, so congratulations.”

Premiership medallions were presented to New Norfolk I team members Matt Bowden, Seb Wishart, Harry Booth, Jordan Banks-Smith, Cody Neads, Tommy Briscoe, Nathan Eiszele, Blake Kemmler, Jye Lester, Josh Rowlands, Jamie Hill and Jason Rigby. The premiership shield was accepted by club president Hill, who had also been the 12th man.

See the match replay on DuffTV’s YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )