central highlands council

Three new faces likely for Central Highlands Council

CENTRAL Highlands Council looks set to have three new councillors as counting continues in the statewide local government elections. Two councillors have retired and a third looks likely to lose his seat, with half of the local votes counted.

Councillors Jim Poore and Anita Campbell, of both of Bothwell, did not nominate for this election and have retired from council. The Tasmanian Electoral Commission predicts that Cr Tony Archer, of Bothwell, will not be re-elected.

There are 11 candidates contesting the nine seats on the council and at the half-way mark, the first preference votes look like this:

  1. TRIFFITT, Loueen (Lou) 340 votes, 34.69%, 3.43 quotas
  2. ALLWRIGHT, Jim 142, 14.49%, 1.43
  3. BAILEY, Anthony (Tony) 83, 8.47%, 0.84
  4. HALL, John 68, 6.94%, 0.69
  5. CASSIDY, Robert L 67, 6.84%, 0.68
  6. BOWDEN, Scott 64, 6.53%, 0.65
  7. HONNER, Julie 62, 6.33%, 0.63
  8. MEACHEAM, David 56, 5.71%, 0.57
  9. WILKINSON, Rob 50, 5.10%, 0.51
  10. MILLER, Yvonne 34, 3.47%, 0.34
  11. ARCHER, Anthony 14, 1.43%, 0.14

Cr Lou Triffett, who has polled very strongly as a candidate for councillor, is the only candidate for mayor and will be returned to that position. Councillors Jim Allwright, of Ouse, and Robert Cassidy, of Bothwell, are in a contest for the position of deputy mayor, currently held by Cr Allwright.

Click here for updates in the Central Highlands Council election count.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )