Valedictory meeting for Derwent Valley Council

MOST councillors wished each other well following tonight’s final meeting of the current Derwent Valley Council. With Tuesday being the last day of voting in the current local government elections, next month’s meeting will have a new cohort of councillors.

Cr Julie Triffett has retired from council after completing two terms, and the remaining seven are seeking re-election. There are 18 candidates for the eight seats on the council. Voting in council elections is now compulsory and any outstanding votes are required to be lodged at any southern council office by 2pm tomorrow (October 25).

The outgoing councillors will be farewelled by staff at a function later this week.

The outgoing Derwent Valley Council photographed after tonight’s meeting. Front from left: Retiring councillor Julie Triffett, mayor Michelle Dracoulis, deputy mayor Jessica Cosgrove and general manager Dean Griggs. Back, councillors James Graham, left, Luke Browning, Matt Hill and Phillip Bingley. Absent: Cr Natatsha Woods.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )