Understanding bushfire warning levels

EMERGENCY services in Tasmania use the nationally-consistent Australian Warning System for bushfire and flood emergencies. Warnings are issued on TasAlert to provide information on what is happening and what to do.

The information is also shared by ABC Radio as the emergency broadcaster. New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News will also share alerts on its website when they affect its primary readership area between Granton and Derwent Bridge.

The Australian Warning System (AWS) levels are: Advice (Yellow), Watch and Act (Orange) and Emergency Warning (Red). Because AWS delivers consistent warnings in an emergency across states/territories, no matter where you are in Australia, you will know what to do. 

These are the Australian Warning System (AWS) emblems used in Tasmania, for bushfire emergencies (top) and floods.

What do the warning levels mean?

Advice (Yellow): An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes. (May also be used to advise that a threat has reduced).

Watch and Act (Orange): There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect you and your family.

Emergency Warning (Red): An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

See more Derwent Valley and Central Highlands news online and read our print edition every second Friday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Local Weather

COVID-19 Advice and Links

Latest headlines

Filter by topic

New Norfolk News Archive

RSS Tas articles feed

Logo of New Norfolk and Derwent Valley News

Subscribe to free daily news email

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )